Arches National Park

30 01 2011

Well, it’s been 4 weeks and I finally did something.

Arches

I got a chance to head off to Arches National Park in Utah. It was fantastic to get out and hike again. I didn’t realize how much I missed it until I actually got out there. The area is a lot like some of the places I visited while I was in Arizona.

The whole trip was awesome. I finished Harry Potter (Books on tape of course) which I have been working on since AZ. The weather was really good, I brought a hoodie, and never used it. The scenery was so diverse and beautiful.

 

 

I spent most of the time just driving around and doing some hiking. Unfortunately, I am broke and I don’t have the money to stay in hotels, so I didn’t have a ton of time. Oh well.

 

I got some good pictures, including some from a side view of the arch. Normally you wouldn’t see this, but of course I was smart enough and got off the trail some how by about 0.5 miles. Scary, but a good picture opportunity.

 

Once I made it back on the trail, I found it much more difficult then my improvised one. Turns out it is right behind a cliff that blocks is from most sunlight. So, you are climbing up a narrow 1 –1.5 foot trail that is snow packed and hard ice with a 10-20 foot drop off. This is not a leisurely hike in the winter. In fact, as I was coming down I slipped about 3 times. At one point I was crawling down and slipped to the point where my leg had gone off the edge. Thankfully I stopped (phewww).

 

Anyways, check out the pictures and let me know what you think. Also, trying something new. Clicking the picture below should bring you to a slideshow. The picture above is the actual picasa album link.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

