D.C. Sleeps Alone Tonight

19 07 2010

I am a visitor here.

100_3182

Keith (my brother) and I decided to head into the city last weekend, just like when we were younger. There is something so liberating about being back there. It brings back so many memories.It is a sense of nostalgia and a taste of freedom.



We did a lot this weekend. Most importantly I saw Inception, and it was AWESOME! Below are a few pictures from the weekend.





100_3198
Hanging out with Thomas Jefferson
100_3201
Overlooking the Potomac to see the Whitehouse and the Washington monument
100_3183
Modern Art in Hishorn. Looks a bit like Grimace to me. Although, they had some fantastic pieces here.
100_3188
The kind of food you can get a the Museum of American History. Soda, Beer, Chicken Fingers and Fries, and a Double Bacon Cheeseburger.

D.C. is different now.

Or I look at things so much differently then I did 6 or 7 years ago. It is kind of scary to realize it, but I am not the same person I used to be.

To quote Moneen:

The Frightening Reality Of The Fact That We Will All Have To Grow Up And Settle Down One Day


Strange how relevant it is.

Now when I am in DC, I feel so disconnected from everyone. Very alone. It’s unusual because this is the place that I feel so free before. At first, I thought it would grow on me, but it hasn’t like I anticipated. It makes me wonder how I will do in Arizona and Colorado. Being here reminds me of better times, and I realize that things won’t ever be the same.

I am a visitor here, I am not permanent.

Actions

Information

One response

20 07 2010
Andy

I fully approve of everything you’ve written here.

Leave a Reply

